The Double crochet stitch

I finally uploaded my video to youtube on the Double crochet stitch the other day and have been a little slack in updating …

When I want to learn a new stitch I try to learn all I can in one go then go back over everything so that’s what I’ve tried to do in my video, in the description box you can look to see where the times for the certain stitches are – I put in how to do the Dc – (Double crochet) into your beginning chain, how to turn your chain, working back along your first row then finding and working in your last stitch. I then show you how to do a Dc inc (Double crochet increase) and and Dc dec (Double crochet decrease). As we move through the video we will I show you how to increase and decrease in more pointed shapes my example being the letter N on the beanie in the intro of the video.

The letter N used as an example on pointed increase and decrease with double crochet
The Nixon Beanie – The letter N used as an example on pointed increase and decrease with double crochet

So here is the link for the video – http://youtu.be/7WBG2OY9bZA

I’m going to put in the written instructions on how to make the Dc stitch – just the stitch, not the turning, increases or decreases – that’s just beyond my descriptive skills. lol

I actually found written instructions online so that was easier.

The Double crochet – (starting from a chain)

Single Crochet Step 1

Make a foundation chain one chain more than the number of double crochet stitches called for.

Insert hook from front to back in the center of the second chain from the hook (2 loops on hook).

Single Crochet Step 2

Wrap the yarn, from back to front, around the hook (this is called yarn over and is abbreviated yo), draw the yarn through the chain (2 loops on hook).

Yarn over once again. Draw through 2 loops on hook (one double crochet complete).

Single Crochet Step 3

Insert hook in the center of next chain, yarn over, draw yarn through stitch, yarn over, draw yarn through 2 loops on hook.

Single Crochet

Repeat across to end of foundation chain. To begin the second row, turn your work. Chain one for the turning chain (does not count as a stitch). Insert hook from front to back under the top 2 loops of the first double crochet in the row below, yarn over, draw yarn through stitch, yarn over, draw yarn through 2 loops on hook (first double crochet complete). Repeat this step in each double crochet across.

These instructions are from the lion brand website but were in Us terms and I had to change the terms so I may have missed something, so sorry about that if I have.

If I’ve missed anything I’ll leave it in the reply/comments below – my brain hasn’t exactly been operating at optimal performance recently.

Once again, until next time

Up, up and CROCHET!!

Leave a Reply

